How to Build a Cache of Cash

1235Ask anyone and they will tell you that they save their coins. I am sure there are just as many people trying to save coins but they eventually dip into their cache of cash regularly.

Maybe you are dipping into your coin collection, too. You need those quarters to do your laundry. You need exact change to ride the bus, train, or subway. You know that a candy bar sold at the drugstore across the street is exactly $0.73 and you need your chocolate fix now. The newspaper box only takes quarters. You know you will be parking at a metered space that only takes coins. You know you will go through a toll way that only accepts coins. The tooth fairy only leaves the new golden presidential coins.

Any one of these is a valid reason to spend money. However, you have decided that you will save your change once and for all. How to do it? A bank.

Not a mortar and brick bank. Think pig. Yes, I am suggesting that everyone from newborns to nursing home dwellers should get a piggy bank.

I got my piggy bank at CVS for $5.99. It is ceramic, pink, and cute and makes a wonderful sound when I move it and the coins do a little dance inside the belly. I got a Big Belly Buddha Bank for $14.99 at a fun shop in my neighborhood that always has unique items for sale. I have also bought a Chinese planter from K-Mart some time around 1994 and it holds change.

Yes, I do use all three banks. I like how the pig and Buddha look as bookends on my shelves. I like knowing that I have some money sitting around the house for a small emergency. In addition, I like not knowing how much it is.

You need to think and act like a little kid. When you got your allowance or baby sitting money or tooth fairy money you probably put it in a bank. You could feel the bank getting heavier and heavier with each coin you dropped inside. Moreover, you were so proud of each and every coin you earned. You probably also took the money out every time you put money in, just so you could count it.

The reasoning behind my piggy banks is simple. If I put money away and do not see it or count it, I am able to forget that I have that money. I ask for rolls of quarters and presidential dollars at the bank so I can do my laundry and play tooth fairy. Coins I do not spend right away are put into the banks. I often forget I have those extra laundry quarters or tooth fairy dollars the next time I need them.

From 1999 to 2001, I saved enough coins for another out-of-state move and then some. I took the money from my banks, put it into manageable sizes of Ziploc bags, took them to the bank to be sorted, and had the amount put into my savings account.

I was just as proud and excited that day as I was when I was just a little girl with my first piggy bank.

Leave a comment